Skip to content

Are people who use Twitter called “twits”?

September 27, 2009

I admit, I’ve never really understood the allure of Twitter.  It seems like a version of AOL instant messenger that only allows you to leave away messages.

But apparently it is convenient for some people.  And so I created a Gravity and Levity Twitter account (username “gravity_levity”), which will automatically announce any blog updates.  If you have questions, comments, or suggestions for future posts, you can of course send me a Twitter message and I’ll respond.  Anything that encourages discussion about physics and other cool things in the universe is a plus for me.  Just don’t expect inane hourly updates, endless RT-ing, or barrages of sarcastic witticisms.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2009 6:03 pm

    I’ve found Twitter useful in two ways (other than announcing blog posts, for which I figure anyone really interested in keeping up-to-date uses a feed reader).

    Firstly, it’s a great place for what weblogs were originally intended to be: a log of things found on the web. If I run across something interesting I can throw it through bit.ly and post it up.

    Secondly, Twitter provides an outlet for the sort of odd musings that otherwise might be lost to the mists of memory or ether. And sometimes one of my random thoughts strikes someone else, who can bounce something back at me that I hadn’t even considered yet.

  2. September 28, 2009 1:04 am

    It’s broadcast text messaging.

Leave a Reply

